Best Water Sports in Islamorada
For your convenience, our most common customer questions are answered right here.
Not finding what you want? Reach out directly through our Contact Us page.
Parasailing Frequently Asked Questions
Q: What part of our vacation should we plan parasailing for?
A: We encourage you to plan for parasailing during the first of your vacation. That way, if the weather doesn’t cooperate you will have other opportunities to fly. Some people who aren’t familiar with Florida’s unpredictable weather have made the mistake of trying to plan for parasailing on the last day of their vacation, only to have Mother Nature rain on their parade.
Q: How does parasailing work?
A: After getting outfitted with a life vest and harness, you’re seated on the flight deck of the boat. You will then be instructed on what to do. After seated the mate clips your harness to the parachute. The captain then presses a button and up you go real nice and smooth, just like sitting on a swing set that slowly elevates you for the experience of a lifetime. And yes, all take offs and landings are done straight from the boat.
Q: How long does the excursion take?
A: The excursion is part parasailing and part boat ride, so you should plan on being out on the pristine Atlantic Ocean for up to an hour depending on the number of parasailors.
Q: Do I have to get wet?
A: No, you don’t have to get wet if you don’t want to. Our way of flying is called controlled parasailing, meaning you take off and land smoothly right from the back deck of the boat. If you opt for it, there is a fun wet part towards the end of your flight. The captain slows the boat down and has you gently freefall, dipping your feet in the water for a refreshing splash. He then lands you back safely on the boat deck.
Q: Is parasailing scary?
A: Actually, it’s quite the opposite. Parasailing is very serene and peaceful. Because the take offs and landings are slow and gradual, you don’t have to worry about having a frightening experience.
Q: Is parasailing safe?
A: Parasailing is safe because we make it safe. We have the most sophisticated equipment the industry makes, we don’t fly in winds over 20 mph, we stay at least 1600 feet from the shore in winds over 10 mph, and we do not fly in severe thunderstorms. Your safety is our priority!
Q: How old do I need to be to fly?
A: Parasailor’s must be at least 6-years-old to parasail. Guests younger than 18-years-old must have an adult sign them in. On the other end of the spectrum, the oldest person we flew last season was 94 years old. Parasailing is great in that it truly is an activity that most family members can do together!
Q: Can minors go up by themselves?
A: Yes, if the minor weighs at least 125 lbs. then it should be okay, but an adult needs to be present to check in anyone under 18 years of age. If the minor weighs under 125 lbs. then they will have to fly with someone else to make up for the weight. Again, this can vary according to weather conditions.
Q: What should I wear?
A: Ladies can wear bathing suits under clothing and delayer accordingly. Gentlemen shorts/bathing suits and T-shirts are fine. In the Spring it could be a little chilly, at least for Florida’s standards, so you may want to bring a jacket. Flip-flops or sandals are the ideal footwear.
Q: Can I take my camera up with me?
A: You are allowed to take a camera up at your own discretion, and should take into consideration the height and water risks. Disposable cameras are best. We also offer a digital photo package as another option to capture your good times.
Q: What if it rains?
A: A little sprinkle and we stay out. Thunderstorms around, and we come in. The captain then decides if we are going on stand-by or if we close down for the day. If you weren’t able to fly then you can either be refunded or rescheduled for a day when we think the sun will come out to play again.
Q: Is it customary to tip the crew?
A: Just like others in the service industry, the crew works very hard to make sure all your needs aboard the boat are taken care of. It is customary to show them your appreciation by tipping 20%. However, if the service was not to a high standard the management would definitely want to be informed.
Q: What happens if the boat stops suddenly?
A: In the unlikely event of a mechanical malfunction the participants are gently lowered into the water (lifejackets are mandatory) and retrieved by another vessel in our fleet.
Q: Is the captain and crew specially trained, experienced and or licensed?
A: Yes! All of our captains are US Coast Guard licensed, enrolled in a mandatory drug testing program and follow the rules of PAPO (Professional Association of Parasail Operators). Both captain and mate are specifically trained in all aspects of parasailing, boat handling and flight procedures, most with many years of flight experience. Some of the best in the world!
Waverunner Frequently Asked Question
Q: Is there a minimum age requirement?
A: Florida law requires the driver of the waverunner to be 16 years of age and if you were born on or after January 1, 1988 you must have a valid Florida Boaters License or complete a boaters safety test. We offer the 25 question/multiple choice test for a $3 fee. You must present a valid picture I.D. in order to take the test.
Q: Are reservations required?
A: No, waverunners are on a first come first serve basis.
Q: How long is the check out procedure?
A: Please allow 20-30 minutes to fill out the paper work and to receive and operational/safety instructions.
Q: Do I need previous boating experience?
A: No, we go though full instructions with you to insure that you are comfortable with driving the waverunner before you leave the dock.
Q: Are the waverunners full of gas, oil and are they clean? How do they need to be returned?
A: Waverunners are sent out full of fuel, oil and are clean. You are not required to refuel when you return. Fuel is included in the cost. Please make sure you remove your personal belongings and trash when finished.
Q: How many people can fit on a waverunner?
A: All of our waverunners hold 3 people or 500 pounds.
Q: Is there a restricted riding area?
A: There is a restricted riding area which the captain and crew will show you during the safety speech at the jet ski location.
Q: What is the age requirement to ride on the waverunner?
A: As long as you can fit into a US Coast Guard approved life jacket you can ride as a passenger on the waverunner.
Q: Are lifejackets supplied?
A: Yes, All In Watersports supplies lifejackets for each person riding the waverunner. If you have small children and they have their own lifejacket they are allowed to wear it as long as it is US Coast Guard approved.